Where the other members of Boris Johnson’s cabinet now stand after shock resignations

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

Jacob Rees-Mogg, Brexit Opportunities Minister continued his unwavering support for the PM last night.

Grant Shapps, Transport Secretary – No 10’s go-to man whenever the PM is in trouble, he has defended Mr Johnson and said he was staying.

Liz Truss, Foreign Secretary has repeatedly backed Mr Johnson with her full support – but her leadership ambitions are well known.

Priti Patel, Home Secretary has called on MPs to back the PM. A source said: “She’s staying.”

Dominic Raab, Justice Secretary – staying. Often sent out to champion the PM’s case but reportedly angered by his demotion from Foreign Secretary to Justice Secretary.

Nadine Dorries, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Secretary tweeted that she was “100 per cent behind the PM.”

Steve Barclay, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster was appointed the new Health Secretary last night.

Michael Gove, Levelling- Up Secretary – staying. Once a close ally, he still supports the PM.

Ben Wallace, Defence Secretary – staying. A source said: “The Defence Secretary is not resigning.”

Therese Coffey, Work and Pensions Secretary – staying. Has faced a barrage of tough questions defending the PM.

Alister Jack, Scotland Secretary – staying. Said in a statement that he was “sorry to see good colleagues resign.”

Nadhim Zahawi, Education Secretary was appointed new Chancellor last night.

Staying: Kwasi Kwarteng, Business Secretary; Alok Sharma, Cop26 President; Anne-Marie Trevelyan, International Trade Secretary; George Eustice, Environment Secretary; Brandon Lewis, Northern Ireland Secretary; Simon Hart, Wales Secretary; Baroness Evans, Lord Privy Seal.

Source: Read Full Article